Intellectual Freedom Award

The Georgia Library Media Association Intellectual Freedom of Information Award recognizes an individual for upholding the principles of intellectual freedom as set forth by the American Library Association of School Librarians and the American Library Association.

Nominations are open to all Georgia school librarians who are current members of the Georgia Library Media Association.

Submit a written statement and or attach evidence demonstrating the role of your nominee in promoting intellectual freedom in the school library media programs.  Supporting documentation includes, newspaper clippings, educational workshop, programs, etc.

Award Winners

2017 GLMA Intellectual Freedom Award Recipient

Amanda Graves

Amanda Graves

Amanda Graves, Media Specialist at E.T. Booth Middle School in Cherokee County, Georgia, is the recipient of the 2017 Georgia Library Media Association Intellectual Freedom Award. The award recognizes an individual for upholding the principles of intellectual freedom as set forth by the American Library Association of School Librarians and the American Library Association.

Amanda completed her early childhood education degree in 2002 from Brenau University and her Master’s of Library and Information Science degree from Valdosta State University in 2012, where she received dual degrees in school media and public librarianship. In 2013, Amanda began working in the library media center at Sprayberry High School in Cobb County and began the new 2016-2017 school year at E.T. Booth Middle School in Cherokee County. Her media program currently serves over 1,700 middle school students and over 100 faculty and staff members.

Amanda will be honored at the Georgia Library Media Association Summer Institute Conference on Monday, June 12, 2017, Wyndham Resort & Conference Center, Peachtree City, Georgia.

Congratulations Amanda!

2017 AASL Intellectual Freedom Award Recipient

Amy Bradley, AASL Intellectual Freedom Award Winner

Amy Bradley

“Amy and her secretary removed every single book from the shelves of the middle school’s library prior to the start of Banned Books Week,” said Rebecca Hunt, award committee chair. “She wanted to show students what the library would look like if intellectual freedom did not exist. Students questioned the empty shelves and were given activities that explained Banned Books Week and the right to read. Of course, the books were returned to the shelves, but not without educating the staff and students on the importance of having the right to choose their reading materials.”

“Mrs. Bradley consistently challenges our students to think beyond the doors of Risley,” wrote Principal Lori Joiner in her letter of support. “Her empty shelves strategy tested the students to think of the struggles of others. Amy’s real-world applications had an impact on the school community. The children asked repeatedly ‘Where are the books – really?’ with real concern. They thought they were truly gone. All we would say is that they were banned.”

“Some of the students actually got upset,” said Bradley during an interview with the Brunswick News. “Two had tears in their eyes. We have to make the books available so the children have the information they need. To me, a child who reads becomes an adult who thinks, and if we take away their resources, they can’t think.”

The AASL award winners will be honored at the AASL Awards Ceremony & President’s Program during the 2017 ALA Annual Conference in Chicago. The ceremony will be held from 9 a.m. – 12 p.m. on Saturday, June 24. All are welcome to celebrate the accomplishments of their peers during this recognition event.

Congratulations Amy!

Previous Award Winners

2016 Amy Bradley

Glynn County (GA) School District
Risley Middle School
Brunswick, GA

2012 Rosalind Dennis

DeKalb County (GA) School District
Stone Mountain, GA

2007 Kristie Michalowski

Gwinnett County (GA) School District
 Magill Elementary School
Loganville, GA

 Nomination Deadline: December 29, 2017

Note: Organizations or individuals may make nominations.  Self-nominations will not be considered.  The recipient will be selected based on the evidence submitted that describes the role he/she has played in promoting intellectual freedom.

Nomination Form: IFA-Application-Form-2017.

Please submit four (4) copies of the Nomination Form and Supporting Materials to the Intellectual Freedom Award Chairperson.  The nomination and supporting materials must be postmarked no later than December 29, 2017

Submit nominations forms and supporting materials to:

Valerie Ayer, Intellectual Freedom Award Chair
DeKalb County School District
Department of Educational Media & Instructional Materials
1701 Mountain Industrial Blvd.
Stone Mountain, GA  30083
678-676-2433(Voice) 770-939-5732(FAX)