Library Media Specialist of the Year

GLMA and GAIT (Georgia Association of Instructional Technology) co-sponsor the Georgia School Library Media Specialist of the Year (LMSOTY) award to recognize K-12 library media specialists with dynamic, innovative programs and whose instructional collaborations foster student engagement and achievement. Additionally, LMSOTY finalists are leaders within their school buildings and in the greater community of library media specialists.

Each school system may select one library media specialist for this award. From those chosen for the system level award, one media specialist is chosen as the GLMA District Library Media Specialist of the Year. (Each GLMA district represents a different region of Georgia.) The Georgia Library Media Specialist of the Year is selected from the GLMA District winners. The 2017 winner will be announced at the GLMA Summer Institute in June.

The LMSOTY application has been updated. If you are looking for an application to use within your school district, you may choose to use this Word or PDF version.

New this year is an online application for system-level winners! If you are the LMSOTY winner for your school system, please fill out this application by March 31, 2017.  Click here for the LMSOTY rubric updated for 2017.

Click here for the GLMA district map.

Library Media Specialist of the Year District Winners 2017

District Name School County
Coastal GA Sonya Bigbie West Chatham Elementary Chatham
Southeast GA Beverly Brostek Glynn Middle Glynn
Metro Karen Garner Couch Middle Gwinnett
North GA Jennifer Gibson Chestatee High Hall
West Central GA Martha Maness Aaron Cohn Middle Muscogee
North Central GA Anne Nechvatal Cherokee High Cherokee
South Central GA Linda Sermons J.L. Lomax Elementary Lowndes
South Metro Kathy Thompson Woodland High Henry
Southwest GA Cheryl Youse Colquitt County High Colquitt
 East GA  Josie Enfinger Hephzibah Elementary  Richmond

Georgia Library Media Specialist of the Year Winners

Year Winner System
2016 Jan Wilson Gwinnett County Schools
2015 Heather Kindschy Cobb County Schools
2014 Kelly Paynter Cobb County Schools
2013 Melissa Purcell Glynn County Schools
2012 Holly Frilot Gwinnett County Schools
2011 Susan K.S. Grigsby Fulton County Schools
2010 Buffy Hamilton Cherokee County Schools
2009 Amy Altman Bulloch County Schools
2008 Becky Greene Bibb County Schools
2007 Linda Martin Hall County Schools
2006 Melissa Johnston Forsyth County Schools
2005 Betsy Razza DeKalb County Schools
2004 Donna Milner Camden County Schools
2003 Julie Stephens Calhoun City Schools
2002 Pam Nutt Griffin-Spalding County Schools
2001 Judy Serritella Clayton County Schools
2000 Paula Galland Glynn County Schools
1999 JaBra Harden Valdosta City Schools
1998 Miriam Powell Thomas County Schools
1997 Nancy B. Clark DeKalb County Schools
1996 Deborah Hargroves Savannah-Chatham County Schools
1995 Peggy James Griffin-Spalding County Schools
1994 Cindy Thompson Clayton County Schools
1993 Pam Kugel DeKalb County Schools
1992 Cathy Anderson Catoosa County Schools
1991 Marsha Goen (State Winner)– Middle School Cobb County Schools
1991 Janice Richardson – Elementary Wayne County Schools
1991 Betty White – High School Floyd County Schools
1990 Carol Martin (State Winner) – High School Polk County Schools
1990 Geraldine Welch – Middle School Coweta County Schools
1990 Susan Preston – Elementary School Decatur City Schools
1989 Nancy Chain – Elementary School Forsyth County Schools
1989 Brenda Newbury – Middle School Richmond County Schools
1989 Bertha Phillips-Furcron – High School Fulton County Schools
1988 Gordon N. Baker – Elementary School Clayton County Schools
1988 Grace Bellamy – Middle School Lumpkin County Schools
1988 Helen Miller – High School Henry County Schools
1987 Nancy Wayte – Elementary School Gwinnett County Schools
1987 Linda Benson – Middle School Jenkins County Schools
1987 No High School Winner Named
1986 Barbara Kaden – Elementary School DeKalb County Schools
1986 No Middle School Winner
1986 Ethelene D. Jones – High School Fannin County Schools