Mable Wyche Underwood Grant

In 1971, Mable Wyche Underwood served as president of the Georgia Library Media Department (now GLMA). Her enthusiasm and passion, along with her untiring efforts and service to student library organizations, influenced at least eight of her students and colleagues (including her daughter, Rosalind Underwood Dennis, GLMA President, 2007), to join the profession. It is because of these significant contributions to the library profession that the GLMA grant was named in her honor.

The Mable Wyche Underwood Grant allows building-level library media specialists who are members in good standing of GLMA to develop, design, implement, or continue an ongoing program which promotes the use of the library media center in the instructional program.

Award: The award shall consist of 2 grants from $400-$600 for school library media specialists at the building level.

Click here for the online application. . Applicants also need to include a letter of principal support. The PDF file can be downloaded here, and the Word version of the file can be downloaded here.

Congratulations 2017 MWU Grant Winners

Shann Griffith, Head Elementary
Reading With Robots

Orena Floyd, Twiggs County Public Schools
Achieving With Audiobooks

2016  Grant Winners

Maile Steimer, Jones Middle School
The Jones Middle School Tinker Time Club

Ashley Sherman, Frey Elementary School

Encouraging the Maker in the Maker Movement