GLMA is a professional organization of those dedicated to the advancement and empowerment of school library media specialists and to quality education in Georgia’s schools. GLMA, Inc. is the state affiliate to the American Association of School Libraries (AASL), a division of the American Library Assocation (ALA).

There are many issues facing Georgia’s school library media specialists.  Your opinions matter and, through your membership in the Georgia Library Media Association, your voice will be heard. 

GLMA has a history of service to school librarians/media specialists that dates back to 1930.  Through its members, GLMA provides information and opportunities from governmental issues to professional development.

GLMA is the only organization with lobbyists focused on the needs of library media specialist in Georgia.

Our lobbyists do the following…

  • Attend hearings and education committee meetings

  • Advise us on how to effectively interact with legislators

  • Testify on our behalf at hearings at the capitol

  • Lobby for increased funding

  • Understand the complexities of the political process at the state capitol

  • Monitor proposed changes by the Professional Standards Commission

  • Send us alerts from the capitol

  • Use their connections to educate legislators about the importance of school libraries

The GLMA By-laws and Policies and Procedures were updated in 2019.  The GLMA Board of Directors is made up of the Executive Board, Region Chairs, and Executive Office. Current officers are listed below. 


President: Holly Frilot

President-Elect: Martha Bongiorno

Past-President: Jennifer Helfrich

Treasurer: Lora Taft

Secretary: Julie Pszczola

Organizational Maintenance Coordinator: Rosalind Dennis

Advocacy Coordinator: Nan Brown

Summer Institute Coordinator: Christa Deissler

Communications Coordinator: Becky Nipper

Grants and Awards Coordinator: Wendy Cope

Exemplary Chair: Cristi Johnson

LMSOTY Chair: Wendy Cope

Intellectual Freedom Chair: Amanda Graves

Mable Wyche Underwood Chair: Wendy Cope

Distinguished School Administrator Award Chair: Amanda Graves

Professional Development Coordinator: Robbie Barber

Special Projects: HRRB Chair: Dr. Wendy Smith

GAIT Liaison: Dr. Danilo Baylen

GaDOE Liaison: Dr. Phyllis Snipes

Region 1, Northwest GA: Diane Hassler

Region 2, North Central GA: Ge-Anne Bolhuis

Region 3, North GA: Linda Martin

Region 4, Metro: Lummie Baker

Region 4, Metro: Diana Freeman

Region 5, Northeast GA: Kerry Hogan

Region 6, West GA: Lora Taft

Region 7, South Metro: Jennifer Cole

Region 8, Middle GA: Sarah Chancellor

Region 9, Central GA: Becky Nipper

Region 10, East GA: Josephine Enfinger

Region 11, West Central GA: Kimberly Scott

Region 12, Heart of GA: Ana Daughtry

Region 13, Coastal GA: Lynn Bigbie

Region 14, Southwest GA: Annette James

Region 15, South Central GA: Heather Morin

Region 16, Southeast GA: Candice Rice

GLMA Region Map


  • Facebook Social Icon
  • 2000px-Email_Shiny_Icon.svg
P.O. Box 148,Waverly Hall, GA  31831

© 2019 GLMA, INC.


  • w-facebook
  • Twitter Clean