Judy Serritella Exemplary Library Media Program

The Judy Serritella Exemplary Library Media Program was created to recognize library media programs that empower students to be critical thinkers, enthusiastic readers, skillful researchers, and ethical users of information both in vision and in practice. Exceptional library media programs are ones that demonstrate these characteristics in a consistent and effective manner. Exemplary library media programs go one step beyond and are a model for innovation, student empowerment, and leadership in the school library community.


The Georgia Library Media Association (GLMA) will recognize and honor three exemplary and three exceptional Georgia Library Media Programs (one from each level).




  • The school library media specialist applying for the award must hold membership in either GLMA or GLA at the time of application submission.

  • Schools must have been in existence for a minimum of three years before applying.

  • Previous recipients of this award may not apply for 5 years after being honored as Exemplary.

  • Library media programs named Exceptional may reapply for the award at any time.



  • You may preview the application and rubric.

  • Please note that all references to space limiters (ex: 2500) are in reference to characters, not words.

  • Names of the school, district, and school librarian should appear ONLY on the front page, not the narrative, in order to ensure impartial judging.

  • Applications for 2020 have passed



  • In 2014, the award was renamed to honor Judy Serritella.

  • Since 2013, GLMA and the Georgia Library Association (GLA) have partnered to sponsor the award; from 2002 to 2012, the program was sponsored by the GaDOE.

  • In 2008, an Honorable Mention category was added.

  • In 2007, an Exceptional category was added.

  • GLMA Facebook Page
  • GLMA Twitter
  • GLMA Instagram

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 by Georgia Library Media Association

Email: info@glma-inc.org

Address: P.O. Box 148

Waverly Hall, GA 31831