2019 LMOSTY, Meadowcreek High School Media Specialist Cicely Lewis, strives to challenge her students to "Read Woke!" Find out more about Cicely, her Read Woke program, and more about her library here.

Congrats to Cicely and all our regional Library Media Specialists of the Year.

Library Media Specialist of the Year

GLMA and GAIT (Georgia Association of Instructional Technology) co-sponsor the Georgia School Library Media Specialist of the Year (LMSOTY) award to recognize K-12 library media specialists with dynamic, innovative programs and whose instructional collaborations foster student engagement and achievement. Additionally, LMSOTY finalists are leaders within their school buildings and in the greater community of library media specialists.


Each school system may select one library media specialist for this award. From those chosen for the system level award, one media specialist is chosen as the GLMA Regional Library Media Specialist of the Year. The Georgia Library Media Specialist of the Year is selected from the GLMA Regional winners. The winner will be announced at the GLMA Summer Institute in June.



  • The applicant must be the system-level winner for their school district.

  • Regions with 25 or fewer schools may submit self-nominations IF their district does not award a LMSOTY district winner.

  • The applicant must be a member of GLMA or GAIT. 

  • The applicant must have 3 or more years of experience as a certified library media specialist. 



  • To begin the application, click the purple box below. 

  • Please note that all references to space limiters (ex: 2500) are in reference to characters, not words.

  • Names of the school, district, and school librarian should appear ONLY on the front page, not the narrative, in order to ensure impartial judging.

  • Deadline: March 14, 2020. 


Additional resources:



Additional rules

  • Any member of the LMSOTY Committee who is nominated for the award must resign from the committee but not from the Board of Directors. Any member of the governing board who is nominated for the award shall abstain from voting on matters related to the award during their term of office. Therefore, current members of the GAIT & GLMA Board of Directors are eligible for the award.

  • The School System Library Media Committee will review the recommendations and applications and select a Library Media Specialist of the Year to recognize and honor at the system level and will also handle local recognition in the news media.

  • Each GLMA region chair will convene a committee to review the system level applications in order to select a regional winner.  From these regional winners, the Georgia Library Media Specialist of the Year (LMSOTY) will be chosen from a group of GAIT and GLMA members.



  • System Level Recipients – Prize determined by each local school system.

  • Region Level Recipients - $100 prize and a plaque commemorating the LMSOTY distinction.

  • State Level Recipient - $300, a plaque commemorating the LMSOTY state honor, and a one-year membership to GAIT and GLMA.

Regional Library Media Specialist of the Year Winners 2019

Regional Library Media Specialist of the Year Winners 2018

Regional Library Media Specialist of the Year Winners 2017


  • Facebook Social Icon
  • 2000px-Email_Shiny_Icon.svg
P.O. Box 148,Waverly Hall, GA  31831

© 2019 GLMA, INC.


  • w-facebook
  • Twitter Clean